Introducing myself

Hello,

My name is Adam Feinstein. I am an autism researcher. I work for Autism Cymru, Wales’s National Charity for Autism, although I am based in London. I edit Autism Cymru’s pioneering website, Awares (www.awares.org) and its other, internationally oriented, site, AutismConnect (www.autismconnect.org.uk).

Every year, I run an international online autism conference on Awares which Professor Simon Baron-Cohen at Cambridge University has called “the finest online conference of its kind on the planet.”  This year’s event, Autism2009, opens on November 30 and runs until December 7.  More than sixty of the world’s leading autism experts – including Simon Baron-Cohen, Gary Mesibov, Donna Williams, Wendy Lawson and Susan Folstein – are taking part.  Anyone can join in and take this unique opportunity to put their questions directly to the world’s top autism authorities. You can register right now at www.awares.org/conferences

In addition, I edit and publish an international autism newsletter, Looking Up, which includes the latest research news and views from the world of autism (www.lookingupautism.org).

I have also just completed a book on the history of autism. This was generously financed by Dame Stephanie Shirley and will be published by Wiley-Blackwell in April 2010.

I give talks on autism around the world and also write on the condition for a number of publications, including the Guardian.

I should add that I have a personal interest in autism:  my 16-year-old son, Johnny, is autistic.

One Response to “Introducing myself”

  1. Jenni Angel Says:

    I have been reading about your son and 2 daughters. I have 2 girls, the younger of which had speech difficuties (verbal dyspraxia) I admire your journey and how you have made a huge positive contribution; also because I knew you in JC days and have all those silly pictures of you in your raincoat in Santiago de Compostella(sp) I find it all touching, particularly how you mention your son’s condition brought you closer to your father. I look forward to reading your book when it comes out!jh

Leave a comment